Scare Appeal

Aside Posted on Updated on

A few weeks ago, I paid $20 and waited in line for 45 minutes to go into a couple of haunted houses, where I was scared for my life, screamed the entire time, and even fell to the floor out of fright.

Let me repeat, I paid $20 and waited for 45 minutes to be petrified.

And I’m glad I did it.

If you ride with me on a roller coaster, you’ll often find me yelling something to the effect of, I hate this! If you walk through a haunted house with me, I’ll question out loud why I’m there. Sit next to me during a scary movie and I cover my eyes half of the time and call myself stupid for watching it.

Yet, I continue.

Why?

A relevant question to ask on this All Hallows’ Eve Eve.

Maybe the thrill of the scare takes me out of my daily, mundane life and allows me to have emotions I (thankfully) don’t normally experience. I consider myself a fairly carefree person. I don’t usually worry much or stress about situations. But sometimes carefree turns to comfortable, and laid back turns to boring. Being scared makes my heart rate jumpand my life more riveting.

I think life-threatening ordeals make us feel more alive. The adrenaline rush we get from these endeavors can give us a sense of courage and strength. If we can handle intense situations such as thrill rides and “ghosts” of murder victims chasing after us, we can take on the world. Partaking in these activities allows me to be brave- or try to be, at least- when I don’t normally get the opportunity to.

So, I will continue to pursue exhilarating opportunities and scream until I can’t scream anymore.

There’s nothing to lose, besides your voice.

2 thoughts on “Scare Appeal

    btupto01 said:
    October 30, 2013 at 19:47

    Totes in agreement with this. Well written!

    marycoral said:
    October 30, 2013 at 20:28

    I had never thought about thrill-seeking in that way. Very insightful!

Leave a Reply

