A Change of Heart

Aside Posted on

Writing has generally been on my “activities to ignore” list.

Yet suddenly I find myself immersed in it. Between blogging for my class and writing feature stories for my internship, I am constantly writing something throughout the day. And for some unknown reason, I enjoy it.

I think my previous prejudice towards writing comes from having to write as a drill. I associated writing with AP essays, research papers about things unimportant to me, writing in such a narrow path that I was afraid to write the way I wanted to. The typical teenage aversion to school orders probably had something to do with it too.

Now, I see writing in a whole new light. It is a way of communicating my thoughts and feelings to others that I can’t get across any other way. It is a way of collecting my own thoughts and bringing them together into cohesion. It is an art form, a way of expression. The words I’m typing seem to know me better than I know myself.

When I’m writing, I think more clearly than when I’m reading or talking to someone. I think it’s because I’m having a one-way conversation. I don’t have to focus on what others are saying while scrambling to find something to say myself. It’s purely my thoughts and the medium.

This blog has been particularly fun for me. I can talk about my feelings on a trending topic, unearth my relationship with God, laugh about something that happened that day, or write about something I recently learned.

This blog is wide open for me. I can mold it however I wish. And that freedom enchants me.

2 thoughts on “A Change of Heart

    amgits01 said:
    October 19, 2013 at 18:07

    Wow! I love this friend!!

    Donna Edrington said:
    October 23, 2013 at 15:12

    Very well said. I have always enjoyed your writing style and it makes me smile to see you appreciate it as well.

Leave a Reply

