The Benefits of Coffee

Posted on Updated on

(PSA: This post has the potential to be pretty cheesy. I couldn’t help myself. Proceed if you dare.)

I know I’m not the only person on the planet to drink coffee and blog about how much I like it. I do realize this could easily be another generic coffee addict’s post.

But I want to point out the meaning behind all those cups of coffee. The bigger picture, so to speak.

Yes, coffee is great at keeping you caffeinated and awake. Yes, coffee is a delicious treat. But I believe coffee is best enjoyed over conversation.

“Let’s get coffee!” is perfect for reconnecting with old friends, laughing about the little things, and talking about life. It’s cheaper than going out for lunch or dinner. There is always a coffee shop nearby. You don’t have to worry about taking up a table if you want to talk for hours. And you can leave when the conversation is over. Coffee can be a 3 hour ordeal, or a 20 minute chat.

I didn’t touch coffee until my freshman year of college. I thought, why should I drink calories I don’t need or pay for coffee when I can just get water? But coffee is not just a hot drink. It’s an experience. It opens up the door for building relationships. It allows you to visit new places that you would otherwise never step foot in.

Sure, I love a good cup of coffee in the morning, friends or no friends, but I believe coffee is not being utilized to the fullest when it is purely functional. Coffee is the most satisfying when it not only heats your hands, but it warms your soul. (There’s the major cheese I warned you about.)

So, hats off to those who have not yet ventured into the coffee realm- it is pretty addictive and the prices do add up- but just acknowledge that it might be worth a sip for the rewards it yields.

Hi, I’m Liz and I’m a social ((coffee)) drinker.

Some local Louisville coffee shops you should wander into:

Leave a Reply

