Louisville

Posted on Updated on

One thing you should know about me is that I am in love with my city. I have been a Louisvillian since birth and I couldn’t be more grateful to call Louisville my hometown.

With this love, comes great responsibility. (eh, close enough)

I feel it is my duty to convince everyone of Louisville’s splendor.

I want every student at the University of Louisville to engage in the city that is at their fingertips. I want every visitor to want to stay forever. I want Louisville to be known and loved by all.

So here are a few of my favorite things around in and around Old Louisville. (I tried to narrow it down to 10, but I have too many favorites.)

  1. Take a stroll around St. James Court. It is a street straight out of a movie with the most majestic and unique houses you’ll find in Louisville. And speaking of St. James Court…
  2. The St. James Art Fair is a MUST. This festival is held the first weekend in October and features 750 different artists from across the country. Whether you come away with a purchase or simply a memory, you definitely will not regret it.
  3. Dairy Kastle. $1.60 cones and a Fat Elvis milkshake that will rock your world. Enough said.
  4. The Flea Off Market. A monthly bazaar selling everything from crafts to tacos to antiques to puppies.
  5. Burger Boy. AKA the local Waffle House. Open 24/7 and has a jukebox. What more could you need?
  6. Central Park. Play tennis, see Shakespeare in the Park , swing a little, run a lap, do your homework, or anything else your heart desires.
  7. The 4th and Magnolia mansion. I live there in my dreams.
  8. Quill’s Coffee. A perfect place to grab a latte, sip, and study.
  9. The Walking Bridge/Big Four Bridge. A splendid addition to the already wonderful Waterfront Park! Anything that brings people from all over the community together to enjoy the outdoors makes me a happy gal.
  10. Nord’s Bakery. You can buy a delectable homemade donut for less than a dollar. And now I’m hungry.
  11. Sunergos Coffee. A neighbor of Nord’s. Proof that donuts and coffee are meant to be enjoyed together.
  12. Toast on Market. My favorite place to brunch. Located on East Market, which is just about the coolest street you’ll ever visit.
  13. Modjeskas from Muth’s Candy. Caramel covered marshmellows of goodness served since 1921.
  14. Amici Cafe. A quaint, romantic restaurant that boasts delicious Italian food.
  15. The Root Cellar. A grocery within walking distance of campus with only fresh local foods, an awesome owner, and pretty darn good chocolate milk.

I hope this list inspires you to explore what is in your own backyard and also to stop in Louisville’s backyard whenever you get the chance.

Liz

2 thoughts on “Louisville

    entertainedangels said:
    September 25, 2013 at 04:20

    Really well written. I can’t wait to come to Louisville to try all of these things

    cardsfan said:
    September 25, 2013 at 17:16

    These are some of my favorite Louisville things too!

Leave a Reply

