Choose the Forest

Posted on Updated on

I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22. ♫♩♬♪♫ Just kidding. I feel 20, which is good because that’s how old I am. If you don’t know what just happened, feel free to educate yourself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgFeZr5ptV8

RE-DO

I don’t know about you, but I get asked the question “What do you want to do with Communications?” AKA “What are you going to do with your life?” all the time. I typically dislike this question, because the truth is, I have  n o   i d e a . I’m not the person who has had their heart set on the medical field from a young age or the person with a fervor for teaching children. Cheers if you do, but I don’t. I don’t have a pre-set profession wired in my soul. Some may see that as irresponsible or unfortunate.

I look at it slightly differently.

I see my unknown future as limitless opportunity. I know what I do have a passion for- relationships, God, dance, helping others, cultures, Louisville, traveling, laughter. Who knows what those will translate into, but honestly, I’m not worried about it.

Why?

Because I know that whatever I do, I want to (and will) enjoy my life. That is the best answer I can give someone. I apologize if you’re searching for something more specific or planned or finite. You won’t find it here. If I’m working in a restaurant, I will enjoy life there. If I’m working for an organization I love, I will enjoy life there. If I’m a Blackjack dealer, I will enjoy life there. If I’m a stay-at-home mom, I will enjoy life there. I think the key to a “successful” future is finding joy wherever you are. Your attitude and heart have the power to make your here and now not just livable, but fun.

I see this as God’s plan for us as well. He desires for us to revel in the gift He’s given us called life.

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” John 10:10

God doesn’t want us to simply live; He wants us to live abundantly, to the full. And while living, He wants us to be hard-working.

“You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things.” Matthew 25:21

Whatever situation you’re in, whether you want to be there or not, be a faithful worker, friend, person, teacher, etc. This actually ties in with the sermon I heard this morning at The Avenue Church. It was about Joseph and the dream the Lord gave him, a dream that He would be the ruler of Egypt. However, this promise was not fulfilled that day. Or the day after. Or the year after. Joseph became the ruler 13 years after the promise from God. What happened in between? Rainbows and butterflies, right?

Guess again.

Joseph spent a majority of those years as a slave or in prison. I’m going to take a wild guess and assume that wasn’t his profession or location of choice. Nevertheless, Joseph worked and served in the place he was.

Bringing things full circle.

My life is WIDE OPEN. I could switch universities next year if I wanted to. I could live in another country for the rest of my life. I could study abroad for a year. I could work 3 part-time jobs. I could pick up a new hobby. Start a new sport. Write a book. Become a YouTube video producer. Get a chinchilla. Make art. I could do literally do ANYTHING. And that would be okay. This is my life that I have been given freedom to live and I will live it to the fullest, seeking to savor every minute of the time I have on this earth.

With that said, keep your life open. Not saying you should never have goals or commitments. Just saying that some of the best experiences occur when your “plans” don’t work out. Don’t keep your eyes on your plans so much that you miss those moments that make you happy to be alive.

And don’t you dare miss the beauty of the forest for the trees.

8 thoughts on “Choose the Forest

    Amanda Robreson said:
    September 9, 2013 at 15:22

    You will figure it out! I felt exactly the way you did when I was your age. That’s why I left college about six years ago. For me it was a good thing to come back last year when I knew at least the direction I wanted to go in. Unfortunately I wasted my time on a lot of classes back then that wont help me at all, so I’m constantly playing catch-up. BTW, I like your writing style. :)

      enedri01 responded:
      September 10, 2013 at 04:44

      Thanks Amanda! I appreciate your responses. :) And I’m glad I’m not alone!

    entertainedangels said:
    September 11, 2013 at 21:05

    thought this was called “choose the forecast”…a little let down, Chaos…

    cardsfan said:
    September 14, 2013 at 02:02

    I love this. Literally got goosebumps as I read it because it all just hit home. Good thoughts and I love where God has your heart right now. I think that by not having everything figured out, you have it figured out more than a lot of people!

    btupto01 said:
    September 19, 2013 at 19:46

    LOVE this! You are such a good writer, Liz! ya da bomb

    btupto01 said:
    September 19, 2013 at 19:46

    Plus I love it because this is exactly what you sound like when you talk…so real

    btupto01 said:
    September 19, 2013 at 19:49

    Reblogged this on grazin' in the city. .

    rsmerk02 said:
    September 19, 2013 at 19:53

    Reblogged this on Cards Eye View.

Leave a Reply

