Thoughts on Internet Privacy…

Posted on Updated on

Privacy is a luxury these days.

You can’t be on vacation without e-mails, phone calls, and text messages about responsibilities at home. Privacy invasion is going even farther now with browser cookies gathering information about you and companies your personal information to third-party organizations. This all translates into what is known as “big data”.

Should we be upset about this or nahhh?

The idea of an unknown person- no, numerous people- having information on me and my Internet habits is slightly unnerving. No one likes to think they’re being tracked. Where’s the freedom in that?

But, how much harm is this really bringing us? Most of the information about us is not that personal. It’s more for the company’s (and our) benefit, not the individual’s harm. They are trying to market more efficiently, so that they use less money and we see more relevant ads.

I’m not going to lie, it did freak me out when I started seeing advertisements for things that interest me on sites that have nothing to do with them. However, I think this will become commonplace and expected by the people. It does make sense.

With that said, I don’t often worry about my privacy settings. I feel like the main data being gathered isn’t going to hurt me. As for Facebook, I have my profile public enough to be found, but private enough to keep my truly personal information safe. Plus, I don’t post very personal, secret comments on Facebook anyways, so there’s not much to worry about. I never tag my location on any pictures, posts or apps. I keep it pretty simple.

Privacy is a luxury few experience these days and you basically have to accept that or not partake in this ever-changing, exciting world we live in.

Leave a comment